Officers 2019-2020 Dr Brian Kinirons President Professor Gerry Fitzpatrick Vice-President  Dr Anne Hennessy Honorary Secretary Dr John O 'Dea Honorary Treasurer Dr Brian O Brien Chair, Training & Education Committee Dr Rory Page Hospital Accreditation Dr Padraig Sheeran Chair, National Clinical Programme of Anaesthesia & IMGTI Cultural Liason Dr Niamh Hayes Chair, Education Committee Dr Ehtesham Khan Chair, Credentials Committee Dr Kevin Clarkson Chair , Quality & Safety Advisory Committee  Dr Calathur Nanda Chair , Alumni Forum Dr Miriam Langdon Chair, Professional Competence Committee Prof David Honan Chair, Examinations Committee Dr Michael Griffin Director Prof George Shorten Chair, ASM CAI Congress Dr Len O 'Hagan Independent Non Executive Director Mr Enda Brazel Independent Non Executive Director Co-opted Members Dr Brendan Conroy Dean, Faculty of Pain Medicine Dr

(Mac Donnell Family Crest) JOHN MAC DONNELL AND THE FIRST ANAESTHETIC IN IRELAND.   The news that William Morton had successfully demonstrated the use of Ether as an anaesthetic in Boston on 16th October 1846 was not long in getting to Europe. Just over 2 months later Sir Robert Liston carried out an amputation under Ether at University College Hospital  London on Monday the  21st December 1846. The January edition (1847) of the journal, the “British and Foreign Medical Review “(1) carried an account of the Morton anaesthetic at the Massachusetts General

Links     Irish Medical Council   National Clinical Programme of Anaesthesia   Critical Care Programme   Western Anaesthesia Society   The Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain & Ireland   Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland   Royal College of Physicians of Ireland   The Royal College of Anaesthesiologists   National Office of Clinic Audit   Health Service Executive   Health Information and Quality Authority   Department of Health   General Medical Council   Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthesiologists   Royal College of Physicians and

Awards and Distinctions   The College is attempting to compile a complete list of College medal winners. If you know of any previous recipients not listed please      

Governance   The Governance Structures of the College consist of a Council which has nineteen members, all Fellows of the College. Council meets six times per year to discuss matters pertinent to education and training. Council sets up a number of sub committees all of which report directly to Council and some of which meet more often than Council. Elections are held annually to Council.   Fellows wishing to be elected to Council must be three years post-Fellowship and in good standing with the College.