Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine

The Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine is the body in Ireland responsible for higher professional training in Intensive Care Medicine.  It is a Joint Faculty, in that it has representation of all the post-graduate training bodies – the College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, and the Royal College of Physicians in Ireland, as well as representation from the Intensive Care Society of Ireland. For more information on the Faculty please go to


Faculty Activities

Specialist Anaesthesiology Training Programme
The Joint Faculty, on behalf of the College, supports Specialist Anaesthesiology Trainees to develop their practice of Intensive Care Medicine during their training programme. The College has set down certain minimum standards regarding duration and structure of training in Intensive Care Medicine.  All trainees should complete six months of structured, supervised training in intensive care medicine.  This should be modular in format comprising at least one 2-month module in an ICU recognized for training for the Diploma of the Irish Board of Intensive Care Medicine (DIBICM).  The DIBICM examination is under the auspices of the Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine of Ireland (JFICMI).

In recent years, the CAI has provided the opportunity for trainees in their final year to complete a Special Interest Year Post.  These have existed in the following sub-specialties:

  • Cardiothoracic Medicine
  • Intensive Care Medicine
  • Obstetric Anaesthesiology
  • Onco Anaesthesiology
  • Paediatric Anaesthesiology
  • Pain Medicine
  • Regional Anaesthesiology

The College has recently undertaken a review of these posts to ascertain both the suitability of the posts and the best method of allocating trainees to them. A pilot appointment process took place for the July 2019 – July 2020 SAT 6 year and expressions of interest were sought from qualifying trainees for posts in the sub-specialties outlined above in a range of hospitals.  Once this process has been completed we will formalise the application and appointment process and more information will be available at that point.

In the meantime, any queries regarding Special Interest Year Posts can be directed to

Applications will be accepted from October 2020 for:

Year One Fellowship in Intensive Care Medicine

Year Two Post CSCST posts in Intensive Care Medicine Commencing July 2021

Post CSCST Fellowship (Year 2 ICM Training) applicants must:

  • Have achieved CST or equivalent in base specialty by commencement of post.
  • Have completed one year of intensive care medicine training and been successful at the FJFICMI examination.

Year One Fellowship in Intensive Care Medicine applicants:

There may be a number of posts available for candidates seeking one year of intensive care medicine accredited training and eligibility for JFICMI examination. Such applicants may:

Have completed CST in base specialty

Be eligible for a recognised year out of programme from base specialty (CAI/RCPI/RCSI).

To apply please send CV to

Further details available from

See also information re Higher Specialist Training in Intensive Care Medicine (

All applications received will be acknowledged within two working days.

Interviews: December 2020

The following hospitals are approved for training in Intensive Care Medicine:

  • AMNCH Tallaght Hospital, Dublin
  • Belfast City Hospital, Northern Ireland
  • Beaumont Hospital, Dublin
  • Cork University Hospital
  • Mater Misericordiae Hospital, Dublin
  • Our Lady’s Hospital for Sick Children, Dublin
  • Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast, NI
  • St James’s Hospital, Dublin
  • St Vincent’s University Hospital, Dublin
  • University College Hospital, Galway

The primary route for becoming a Fellow of the Joint Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine of Ireland is by completing the prescribed period of training and achieving success at the JFICMI’s Fellowship examination.

A second (less common) means of achieving Fellowship is by admission as an ad eundum Fellow – the individual doctor having been assessed and approved by the Faculty’s Credentials Committee as the holder of JFICMI-equivalent training and examination. Honorary Fellowship is the only other category of Fellow. Regulations pertaining to Fellowship can be read in sections 6 and 7 of the Faculty’s Memorandum and Articles of Association.

The Board of the Joint Faculty of the Intensive Care Medicine 2018 – 2021 is constituted as follows:

Dean: Dr John Bates

Vice Dean: Dr Michael Scully

Board Members        

Honorary Secretary: Dr Donal Ryan

Honorary Treasurer: Dr Alan Gaffney

Elected Member: Andrew Westbrook

Elected Member: James O’Rourke

Elected Member: Jennifer Hastings

Co-opted: Brian Marsh

Co-opted: Dermot Phelan

 Since 2009, the Faculty has taken over the role of the Irish Board of Intensive Care Medicine and its Memorandum and Articles of Association. Its purpose is primarily to facilitate the training, examination and related accreditation activities for Intensive Care doctors and their institutions in Ireland. The Joint Faculty supervises ICM Training and accredits Trainees and Training Institutions.

The beginning of Intensive Care in medicine is attributed to introduction of novel successful (ventilatory) treatment of Poliomyelitis-related respiratory failure by Ibsen et al in Scandinavia in the early 1950’s. The first ICUs in Ireland were in 1959 and ’61 at Dublin and Belfast and many ICUs then developed.

For more information contact: