Faculty of Pain Medicine

The purpose of the Faculty of Pain Medicine is to train and educate medical practitioners in the management of pain medicine and to ensure the delivery of high standards of practice. The Faculty, on behalf of the College, supports Specialist Anaesthesiology Trainees to develop their practice of pain medicine during their training programme, they also offer a Special Interest Year and opportunities for Faculty Fellowships in Pain Medicine

Faculty Activities

Specialist Anaesthesiology Training Programme  The College has set down certain minimum standards regarding duration and structure of training in pain medicine.  All trainees should complete one 2-month period of modular training in pain medicine that includes regular attendance at a Pain Clinic.  They must also participate in a formal Acute Post-Operative Pain Service in at least two other hospital rotations. Special Interest Year (SIY) In recent years, the CAI has provided the opportunity for trainees in their final year to complete a Special Interest Year Post.  These have existed in the following sub-specialties:

  • Cardiothoracic Medicine
  • Intensive Care Medicine
  • Obstetric Anaesthesiology
  • Onco Anaesthesiology
  • Paediatric Anaesthesiology
  • Pain Medicine
  • Regional Anaesthesiology

The College has recently undertaken a review of these posts to ascertain both the suitability of the posts and the best method of allocating trainees to them.  A pilot appointment process took place for the July 2019 – July 2020 SAT 6 year and expressions of interest were sought from qualifying trainees for posts in the sub-specialties outlined above in a range of hospitals.  Once this process has been completed we will formalise the application and appointment process and more information will be available at that point. In the meantime, any queries regarding Special Interest Year Posts can be directed to Faculty Fellowship The criteria for admission to the Faculty Fellowship is passing the Diploma in Pain Management exam and Part 2 of the Fellowship examination.

  1. Consultant in Pain Medicine (Level 2) OR
  2. Consultant with a sub-specialty interest in Pain Management (Level 1)

For Anaesthesiology Trainees: Step 1 (Post FCAI or MCAI*) You will need 6 months modular training and completion of the Exam: DPMCAI (post 2012) *DPMCAI only conferred after FCAI passed Step 2 (1 yr Special Interest Year (SAT) Level 1 Consultant with sub-specialty interest in Pain Management Needs to have completed the requirements of the training programme in Anaesthesiology. If further training is desired: Step 3 1 yr Fellowship (Local or overseas/prior approval) Step 4 Take Exam: FPMCAI* (can be taken after 1 yr of Pain Medicine training) Level 2 Consultant in Pain Medicine (CST in Pain Medicine) *FPMCAI only conferred after completion of 2nd year. CVs can be assessed on a case by case basis for 2 year duration of dedicated Pain Medicine training.

Applications open for One Year Post CST Fellowship in Pain Medicine  Applications open for Advanced Subspecialty Training in Pain Medicine Applications are invited for Training Posts for one-year Post CST Fellowship in Pain Medicine commencing July 2021 Fellowship Applicants must: 1. Be registered with the Irish Medical Council Specialist Register by the time of the interview 2. Have completed an approved Specialist Training programme recognised by the Faculty of Pain Medicine 3. Have fulfilled the HSE requirements regarding the English language To apply please send CV and cover letter to Closing date: 5PM, 6th November 2020 Interviews: late November / early December 2020  

The following hospitals are approved for Special Interest Posts.

Tallaght Hospital x 1 post Dr Philip Hu
Mater Hospital x 1 post Dr Conor Hearty
St James Hospital x 1 post Dr Connail McCrory
St Vincents University Hospital x 1 post Dr Hugh Gallagher

The following hospitals are approved for the Second Year of training in Pain Medicine.

Beaumont Hospital x 1 post Dr David Moore
St Vincents University Hospital x 1 post Dr Hugh Gallagher
Mater Hospital x 1 post  Dr Conor Hearty

The Board of the Faculty of Pain Medicine 2018 – 2021 is constituted as follows: Dean: Dr Brendan Conroy Vice Dean: Dr Hugh Gallagher Immediate Past Dean:  Prof Connail McCrory Board Members:          Dr Hugh Gallagher Dr Conor Hearty Dr Therese O’Connor Dr Basabjit Das Dr Kevin McCarthy

The Faculty of Pain Medicine was formally inaugurated at a ceremony in the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland November 22nd 2008. It had existed in shadow form for the previous year. The Faculty is a natural progression from the Pain Medicine Board within the College chaired by Dr John Cooper which was set up in 1999. This Board had successfully established the Diploma in Pain Medicine as the first post graduate examination in Europe (2001-2012). The Board was appointed by the College as the Foundation Council of the new Faculty with Dr David Hill (Belfast) as Dean. The Council then proceeded to elect new officers Dr Camillus Power (Dublin) as Vice Dean, Dr Liam Conroy (Cork) as Hon Sec. and Dr Ray Victory (Dublin) as Hon Treasurer. Dr Power succeeded to the Deanship in October 2009. The first Honorary Fellowship of the new Faculty was awarded to Dr John McAdoo (Cork University Hospital), President of the College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, in recognition of his role in the development of the new Faculty.

For more information contact:  Rebeca Williams, Pain Medicine Administrator at the College on 01-2650624 or by email on