ASPIRE Fellowship: Clinical Leadership and Medical Education   There is a new opportunity for doctors to undertake an ASPIRE Fellowship from July 2024. The HSE NDTP Aspire (Post CSCST) Fellowship awards have resulted from the collaborative efforts of HSE’s Acute Hospitals’ Division, Mental Health Division, National Doctors Training and Planning (NDTP) and the Forum of Postgraduate Medical Training Bodies in Ireland. The Fellowships are funded by HSE NDTP, and they are recognised, managed, and awarded through the CAI. The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland seeks to appoint an Aspire Fellow in Clinical Leadership & Medical

Former Dean of the JFICMI, Dr Dermot Phelan has been awarded the University of Galway Alumnus of the Year award for Medicine for 2024, at a ceremony on May 10th. The award is in recognition of his role in the foundation of Intensive Care Medicine as a medical specialty in Ireland.

Dr Eimear Brannigan is  National Clinical Lead for Antimicrobial Resistance and Infection Control (AMRIC) writes “ Most years when Hand Hygiene Day comes around, we have to ask ourselves how we find a renewed way to talk to people about the importance of hand hygiene in preventing infection. We are in a very different place in relation to knowledge around the importance of hand hygiene due to the pandemic. However, ongoing research is showing that people are reverting to previous practices where hand hygiene is concerned”.  She is encouraging healthcare