Applications are now open for the HSE NDTP Aspire (Post CSCST) Fellowships July 2020

These awards have been introduced by the HSE NDTP in relation to the recommendation arising from the McCraith Report (2013) to continue development of post-CSCST Fellowship capacity in Ireland in order to retain specialist medical expertise in the public health system in advance of appointment to Consultant posts.

The NDTP Aspire (Post CSCST) Fellowship awards will provide funding for 8 Fellowships; 6 in the Acute Hospitals’ Division and 2 in Mental Health, to commence in July 2020.

Entry Criteria:

Doctors eligible to be appointed into one of the NDTP Aspire Fellowships must be within three years of their Certificate of Satisfactory Completion of Specialist Training (CSCST) and have completed their training within an Irish Postgraduate Training Body.


If you wish to take up the NDTP Aspire Fellowship you must have completed your CSCST no later than July 2017 and be available to commence the Fellowship in July 2020.


The 8 successful 2018 Aspire Fellows will receive:

  • SpR Salary (highest on the scale) and headcount for the duration of the fellowship
  • Eligibility to access the Higher Specialist Training Fund during the fellowship
  • Formal recognition of achievement following completion of the fellowship from the College of Anaesthetists of Ireland
  • A high quality fellowship experience in Ireland that will improve competitiveness for positions within Ireland.


Guidance document and application form is available on the HSE NDTP website


Applications should be submitted to Ellen O’Doherty at her email address before the closing date of Friday 8th November 2019. 


Download Application Form