Event: 2nd National Patient Safety Conference CPD Points Approved: 5.5 Date: 16 November 2018 Venue: College of Anaesthesiologists of lreland, 22 Merion Square, Dublin 2 Contact:  Orla Doran, Bookings: Download and Complete Registration Form (pdf). Programme Information:  Download the Conference Programme for more information (pdf).      

Membership MCQ 5th September 2018 The following candidates have been successful: 66001 66014 69001 71006 71016 66003 66015 70001 71007 71017 66004 66017 70002 71008 72001 66005 66019 70003 71010 72004 66006 66021 70004 71011 72005 66007 66024 71002 71012 72006 66009 66026 71003 71013 75001 66013 67001 71004 71015 75003

Event:ISRA Consultant Only Foundation Workshop Date: 14 December 2018 Fee: €125 Venue: College of Anaesthesiologists of lreland, 22 Merion Square, Dublin 2 Download Programme Flyer (pdf). Download Timetable for Workshop (.doc). Registration: Contact: or visit  

Patient safety is at the heart of everything we do at the College of Anaestheologists of Ireland and underpins our training, education and examinations. We are committed to a culture of safety. This has many dimensions and includes continuous learning, effective team working and communication and prioritising at all times the safety of our patients. The Royal College of Anaesthesiologists (RCoA) and the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) engage partner organisations to create and disseminate patient safety updates. Patient safety updates are published quarterly. Download PSU Update October 2017

Thank you to H.E. Ambassador Gerry Cunningham for meeting Dr Brian Kinirons and Professor Ellen O'Sullivan from the College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, at the Embassy of Ireland in Malawi, on September 8th 2018. A delegation from the College were in Malawi to deliver a course to a wide community of medical and nursing staff on advances in trauma and obstetrics, improving maternal and newborn mortality and best practice patient care. Dr Brian Kinirons, Prof Ellen O'Sullivan, Prof Anthony Cunningham, Dr Tom Schnittger, Dr Anne Tobin and Dr Cillian Suiter from the

The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland has today, September 13th 2018, announced that the terms ‘anaesthesia’ and ‘anaesthetist’ will be replaced with ‘anaesthesiology’ and ‘anaesthesiologist’. To officially mark this terminology change, Minister for Health Simon Harris TD will unveil a plaque at the College in Merrion Square, renaming the College officially to the College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland. This terminology change is in line with global best practice and acknowledges the wider role of the anaesthesiologist. The World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesia (WFSA) defines anaesthesiology as the medical science and

Call for Abstracts:  KP Moore Medal Competition 2018 We are now accepting abstract submissions to be considered for presentation at the KP Moore Medal Competition in the College on Friday 16 November during the National Patient Safety in Anaesthesia Conference. The closing date for applications is Friday 26th October 2018. Submitted abstracts must be on a topic related to Patient Safety in Anaesthesia and could include research, audit, quality improvement or safety enhancement projects. Closing Date: Friday 26 October 2018 Contact: Orla Doran at for further information. KP Moore Call for Abstracts (pdf.) KP Moore Abstract Form (.doc)