## **College of Anaesthetists of Ireland**



The Final FCAI Medal is awarded at the annual conferring ceremony in May. The prize is awarded to a candidate who on their first attempt achieves a total score of 18 (i.e. 4,4,4,3,3) or above in the Final FCAI Examination.

This prize was donated by Professor Tess Cramond (nee O'Rourke Brophy) AO OBE FRCA FANZCA Hon FFARCSI FFPMANZCA, in memory of her parents William and Jane Brophy (nee O'Rourke).

All four of Professor Cramond's grandparents were Irish. They migrated to Australia in the late 1870s and settled in Queensland.

Like so many of the Irish in Australia, they gave to their children, including their daughters, the benefits of secondary education when this was a privilege afforded few women.

William and Jane Brophy continued this tradition and supported education, not only of their four daughters, but also by supporting education for the trades and for the development of like skills, particular for those not aspiring to tertiary education.

While maintaining a love of Ireland and its history and traditions, Professor Cramond's grandparents and parents espoused the philosophy of being 'faithful to the Old Land, true unto the New'. It is for this reason that she has donated The William and Jane Brophy Prize as witness to the links between Ireland and Australia.

## Recipients

Paul Fennessy	Spring 2017
Pierce Geoghegan	Autumn 2016
Muhammad Kashif	Spring 2016
Laura Flood	Autumn 2015
Aidan Magee	Spring 2015
Ursula McHugh	Spring 2015
Mary Aisling McMahon	Autumn 2014

David Greaney	Autumn 2014
Aoife Hegarty	Spring 2013
Ahmed Elsherbeny	Spring 2013
Raymund O'Connor	Spring 2012
Roseita Caroll	Spring 2012
Karen Goddard	Spring 2011
Aine Heaney	Spring 2011
Niall Kennedy	Spring 2011
Fiona Kiernan	Autumn 2010
Michael Callaghan	Spring 2008
Payal Kajekar	Spring 2008
Denise McCarthy	Spring 2007
Mark Dougherty	Spring 2006
Michael Looney	Spring 2006
Róisín Ní Mhuircheartaigh	Autumn 2004
Aoibhin Hutchinson	Spring 2004
Raymond McKee	Spring 2004
Donal Ryan	Autumn 2003
Nilesh Nanavati	Spring 2003
Gareth Allen	Spring 2002
Raman Sivasankar	Spring 2002
Mark Nash	Autumn 2001
Bronagh McElhenny	Autumn 2001

Adam Harper	Spring 2001
Ruth Fanning	Autumn 1999
Clive Woolfe	Autumn 1995
Donal Buggy	Spring 1995
Abhiram Mallick	Autumn 1994
Catherine Angela O'Dwyer	Spring 1993
Joseph Francis Fitzgerald	Autumn 1993
Willie O'Brien	Autumn 1975